Bali Visas and Formalities


All visitors to the country must hold a passport that is valid for at least six months beyond the period they plan to stay.

Visas on Arrival

Important change to Indonesia’s Visa Policy for Tourists. (Updated 27th January 2010)

Please read carefully as there have been changes to Indonesia’s visa policy.

Effective from August 1, 2005, all arrivals to Indonesia are subject to new visa regulations. 

Countries that do not require a Visa to enter Bali & Indonesia.

  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Chile
  • Hongkong Special Administrative Region
  • Macao Special Administrative Region,
  • Malaysia
  • Morocco
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

Effective from 28th May 2007, the government through Ministerial Decree by the Minister of Law and Human Rights, extended Visa on Arrival (VoA) facilities to another 11 countries, bringing to a total of 63 countries, whose nationals may enter Indonesia by taking Visa on Arrival, reports Bisnis Indonesia. The additional 11 countries are : (1) Algeria, (2) Czechoslovakia, (3) Fiji, (4) Latvia, (5) Libya,(6) Lithuania, (7) Panama. (8) Romania, (9) Slovakia, (10) Slovenia, and (11) Tunisia.

VOA arrival costs US$25 for 30 days, there is no longer a visa available valid for 7 days. Processing is relatively fast in Bali and those who cannot pay in US$ can change money on the spot at a money changer. The 30 day visa may be extended for a further 30 days by paying an additional US$25. You will have to leave Indonesia and return if you wish to stay longer than 60 days.

Below are the 63 countries that are eligible for visa-on-arrival when visiting Bali and Indonesia.

  • Algeria
  • Arab Emirates
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • China
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Egypt
  • Estonia
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Panama
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Tunisia
  • United Kingdom
  • United States America

The Visa purchasing system will take approximately 3-5 minutes per applicant. There are 6 payment counters, a bank and a money changer set up to process payments

Once you have paid for and received your visa you will need to proceed to Immigration where your visa will be processed. Citizens of countries not on the visa on arrival or visa free lists will be required to apply for a visa before entering Indonesia. Your passport must be valid for at least 6 months from the date of entry into Indonesia, and you must have proof of onward passage (either return or through tickets).

If you cannot fulfill both of these requirements, you may not be allowed to enter the country.

You are advised to change your money into US$ prior to arriving in Bali to pay for your visa on arrival

Citizens of countries neither on the VoA nor Visa-Free lists are required to apply for a visa overseas before traveling to Indonesia.